Skip to content

Facing The Lion {written by Lionel}

January 19, 2011

{The view over our back yard Monday evening.}

I have recently had a major heart shift. I hope you can allow me to go there and share why this change has been happening in me during the last couple weeks.

A few weeks ago I was reading Narnia to my kids and had been beforehand pondering our financial situation as a family. When I opened the book the sentence “There is no other source” leaped out at me – it was about a girl who was dying of thirst.

There was a brook that she came up to, but Aslan (the lion) was standing by the brook and she had never met Aslan and was petrified. Aslan said to her to come and drink – but the discomfort and fear of walking up to a lion was too much for her. She said, “I’ll go find another brook.” He answered and said there is no other source, if you don’t come and drink you will die of thirst.

I knew this story was for me. I knew I’d been avoiding asking for help and trying to find every other stream possible to provide for my family and GA. But the words “you’ll die of thirst” if you don’t confront  your fears stuck with me.

So that’s where my communication has been in the past – and needing to change going forward.

Misha and I have known that we are supposed to continue to work with GA. My hope is not for people to help us do that because they feel pressure. I hope I never communicate that way. Instead I want our family’s financial help to come from people getting excited about what GA is doing, and who want to join us in helping other families find hope, feel cared for and know they are not alone.

I’m giving my energy and time to that. It is also deserving of my voice.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kirsty permalink
    January 19, 2011 5:56 am

    Absolutely deserving of your voice!

  2. Loren permalink
    January 19, 2011 3:36 pm

    I faced that a few months ago. Had 11 days to raise a great need for our family. Met an 18 year old Campus Crusade girl going to Germany. We all know that one style isn’t for everyone. But the biggest thing was that it helped me face my great fear and I did raise 85% of our need in those 10 days. Going home my wife by coincidence took the Campus C training in order to pass it on here in India for our Y workers. She had to face her fears as well and quicky raised what we needed. All the best , God is there for you. Loren

  3. Barbara R. Thompson permalink
    January 22, 2011 9:50 pm

    Very moving Lionel. Thank you for writing this. God bless you and Misha and my heart felt prayer is that you will experience God’s provision pressed down and running over; for GA and for your family.

Leave a Reply

