Skip to content

Euphoria

March 11, 2011

by Lionel

This past Sunday a Psychologist, Dr. Kirk Austin, was sharing with our church about emotional health. He shared about an experiment that was recently made whereby a test group was told to spend a day doing something they’ve always wanted to do, something exciting and fun. Afterwards the duration of euphoria from that experience was measured. On average, after one or two days, the euphoria / high from that experience had gone away.

These same doctors then took another test group and instructed each of them to spend one week actively serving and helping others around them in need. The duration of euphoria after the week-long test was studied and they found that it lasted on average for six months.

The conclusion of this study is that long-lasting happiness and joy is not found investing in our own happiness but rather is found from serving others.

The math looks very appealing: one solid week of serving = six months euphoria.

Matthew 25:36 – ‘I was hungry and you fed me,
I was thirsty and you gave me a drink,
I was homeless and you gave me a room,
I was shivering and you gave me clothes,
I was sick and you stopped to visit,
I was in prison and you came to me.’

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara R. Thompson permalink
    March 12, 2011 7:01 am

    Excellent! I agree. After one week of serving and one gets six months euphoria is something to really chew on! Have been helping friends move house and after a full day of cleaning etc came home floating on a high! It has been a rewarding few days.

  2. March 18, 2011 12:46 am

    let’s see Jesus had it right in the Great Commandment — Love God – Love your neighbor – Love yourself….. What wisdom and insight…….

Leave a Reply

